No. 1 Rams roll into seventh straight state tournament after 87-47 win over No. 8 Columbia

The Rams are headed back to Lemoore to defend their 2022 state title. (Photo by Eric Sun)
The Rams are headed back to Lemoore to defend their 2022 state title. (Photo by Eric Sun)

SAN FRANCISCO – In what is becoming an annual tradition, City College of San Francisco is headed back to the California Community College Athletic Association (CCCAA) State Championships for the seventh consecutive season.

Thanks to a dominant 87-47 victory over No. 8 Columbia College on Saturday night in the third-round of the Northern California Regional Playoffs, the Rams will now take the North's No. 1 seed to Lemoore for the state tournament that gets underway on Thursday (March 9).

CCSF is scheduled to face South No. 4-seed San Bernardino Valley College at 5 p.m. in its opening game of the tourney. | STATE TOURNAMENT BRACKET/SCHEDULE

Tickets to the four-day event at Golden Eagle Arena on the campus of West Hills College Lemoore are $12 for general admission and $8 for all identified students, faculty, staff, senior citizens age 60 and over, and children under 12 years old. Advanced tickets are now available for purchase online at the CCCAA tickets website. | TICKETS

The Rams, winners of 21 of their last 22 games, will take a 27-3 overall record to the state championships. They are two victories away from claiming back-to-back state titles and the fifth under head coach Justin Labagh.

San Bernardino Valley was a 63-58 winner over Pasadena City College on Saturday in its Southern California Regional Final to punch its ticket to the state tournament. The Wolverines are also 27-3 heading into Thursday's contest.

The two squads will be facing each other for the first time this season.

CCSF won its seventh straight game on Saturday in defeating Columbia. Mezziah Oakman led the Rams with 16 points, 9 rebounds, and 5 blocks while Dante Sawyer, Jamir Thomas, and EJ Neal all scored 13 points each.

The Rams look to win their sixth state championship overall after winning titles in 1962, 2011, 2016, 2018, and 2022.